Slices of life #1

‘Mataji, mataji’… a girl  maybe in the sixth standard came running behind me.

‘Yes, I said as I patted her back, her face glowed. It often amazes me how a small gesture encourages children and makes them happy.

‘How many times should I say, “Om” before I begin my studies’, She asked.

‘As many times you feel the need’, I said. She looked at me confused. I continued, ‘Ideally three times but if you are more disturbed you can say ten times’, I said.

She smiled, mumbled a thank you and ran away.

I love working with children. The love and dedication that they show is seldom to be seen in adults.

I love the way they make you theirs. Last week for example, it was raining heavily. The auto driver took me as far as possible amidst the school compound. But when I got down balancing my sari with my bag and wallet, some coins fell. Immediately two boys came running forward saying a good morning to rescue my coins.

As I sit on the podium I can feel their curiosity, ‘What is she going to tell today’, and their excitement rubs off on me. And we begin a new session.

_____________________________________________________________

The shloka which I am reminded of by their curiosity

ascarya-vat pasyati kascid enam
ascarya-vad vadati tathaiva canyah
ascarya-vac cainam anyah srnoti
srutvapy enam veda na caiva kascit
TRANSLATION
Some look on the soul as amazing, some describe him as amazing, and some hear of him as amazing, while others, even after hearing about him, cannot understand him at all. (BG 2.29)
_____________________________________________________________

 

#slicesoflife

Leave a comment

Filed under Slices of life

Leave a Reply

