I was, I am, I will

na tv evaham jatu nasam na tvam neme janadhipah na caiva na bhavisyamah sarve vayam atah param

This shloka from Chapter 2 of the Bhagvad Gita (Text 12) always gives me goose bumps. Why? Because this shloka reiterates the eternality of the soul as also the fact that we are individuals which were, are and will be living….always. TRANSLATION: Never was there a time when I did not exist, nor you, nor all these kings; nor in the future shall any of us cease to be. I always fall in love with life again when I read this shloka. It fills me with energy.

The mere fact that we are not supposed to be machines but we are individuals with similar characteristics and yet we have something special fills me with joy.

This shloka reiterates the fact that e as spirit souls will never perish. The individual soul was always present and present today too. If lucky tomorrow it will go back to Godhead and there too will retain its individuality while serving the Lord. Very often people get afraid to be involved in bhakti fearing that they will lose their interests their passions. Bu the fact is all the passions and interests can be used for bhakti. I like to write, so I write, I like to be with children, so I teach them. Simple. Use your talents in the processes of bhakti. Simple. I remember as a young girl telling my mother, ‘Don’t ask me to do as the others do…I have my own individuality’ 😛 Maybe in my heat I knew that I am individual eternal soul then too 😀

1 Comment

Filed under short musings

One response to “I was, I am, I will

  1. KP

    Very nicely explained.Till we merge our souls with Supreme,the cycle of births and deaths would continue.Doing one’s karma efficiently without wavering in the real purpose of life as you do write,teach,and involve in temple activities is the way to go.
    I like your series on Gita.

Leave a Reply

