GAURANGA!!

The ‘look’

I caught a glimpse as I turned,

I retraced my steps,

I saw,

and then I stared.

The beauty,

The twinkle in the eyes;

The mischief;

All held me.

I stood there,

transfixed,

The world moved,

Around me.

I stood,

Nothing shook me,

Nothing touched me,

As I gazed.

Your beauty;

arrested me,

Your gaze;

Beckoned me.

And I have been

Mesmerized ever since.

That was my first encounter with Krishna. The more I read or heard of him, the more enchanted I became. It is just about four years back that I came to know of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.

When Krishna was about to leave this planet (when He came as Himself in Dwapar Yuga); Rukmini was teary eyed. She said that who would take care of the people, who would guide them. For the next yuga was Kali; the age of quarrel and hypocrisy. And then Krishna had replied that he would come again in Kali as his own devotee and would show how to really live.

True to his words in 1486, there was born a brilliant son at the house of Jagannath Misra and Sachidevi in Navadvipa. It was poornima and whats more, there was a lunar eclipse. While the people bathed in the Ganges to the sound of Krishna and Hari, the boy whose complexion was of molten gold was born. He was born underneath a Neem tree and so was nicknamed as Nimai.

Nimai grew up to be Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. He was also known as Gauranga because of his complexion. And he practically showed how a bhakti yogi should live. He made it clear that the yuga dharma of Kali yuga is sankirtan i.e. congregational chanting and wherever he went he encouraged people to take up chanting.

I just pray at the Lotus feet of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu that wherever I am, whatever situation I am, I may be able to follow, the path which he has laid down.

Happy Gaur Poornima to all!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “GAURANGA!!

  1. KP

    Chaitanya Mahaprabhu taught the world the infallible efficacy of total devotion often accompanied by Nama sangirthans in praise of Lord Krishna.
    Do write more about the incidents in his life.

Leave a Reply

